Home > B2, Learning > Debating my Favorite Topic this Year.

Debating my Favorite Topic this Year.

One of the most interesting things I think we have done all year would have to be the Topical Debates. While these were not always my strongest area, I ended up learning a lot more about current day issues, such as the controversy surrounding the upset of Proposition Eight (Which I still think is not a case of Judicial Tyranny, despite what the other side argued!).

Image 

I discovered how the Constitution relates to policies and laws, and how the courts address such possible violations to the laws. I may have no interest in becoming a political figure or a lawmaker, I believe it is good to know such things so you know why your government works the way it does. Now I know much more of just that. The debates aided that learning further, allowing me to see both sides of a legal issue using articles from the Constitution itself. I’m nearly old enough to be summoned for jury duty, even if I am exempt as long as I am in school, but at least this way I’ll know more about what I’m doing.

  1. govjuliannej
    May 2, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    A good topic to write about, but you could go a lot deeper into it. Talk more about why we need to be up to date on current events and why it is important to debate! A little more depth would go a long way with this post.

  2. govjuliannej
    May 2, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    Also, it would help if you explained what Proposition 8 was and why it is important to the post.

  3. kiannash
    May 2, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    I enjoyed the Topical Debates very much as well! When you say that the debates aided value your education, could you give an example? Previously, you mentioned Proposition Eight. Maybe you could add what you learned about Proposition Eight in the Topical Debates and how the debate strengthened or weakened your point of view. Nice job!

    • sterlingjho
      May 3, 2012 at 6:52 pm

      Thank you, both of you! I’ll be sure to fix this and expand my post. True, I didn’t mention what proposition 8 is, I only posted a link to a place that explained it, though when you think about it, that’s not really what this post is about. It’s about what we ourselves have to say. I’ll make this better as soon as I can.

  4. May 10, 2012 at 12:52 pm

    I agree with your classmates – much here to expand on and plenty of ways to dig deeper.

    For example, I’m curious about this line in paragraph #1: “controversy surrounding the upset of Proposition Eight (Which I still think is not a case of Judicial Tyranny, despite what the other side argued!).” What’s the controversy? Why have you developed the opinion that it’s NOT a case of judicial tyranny??

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

